The Frugal Bandwagon

joan and david wedgesIt’s funny how quickly fashion magazines latched on to the idea of bargain-priced fashion when the economy tanked. One magazine I subscribe to touted “Everything in this issue under $100!” What left an impression on me was how the editors were both amazed by the cheaper fashion looking so good and the hard time they had searching for it. Please. Ladies, you need to get out of Manhattan once in a while, for your audience? We know how to do that every day.

Just last week I was wearing an outfit that cost, from shirt to shoes, under 90 bucks. That included a new slouchy handbag I’d found on sale at Macy’s for what I thought was $50, but turned out to be $30 at the checkout. Amen for sales.  The shirt was a turquoise safari-style belted button down I picked up at JCPenney last year for $14.99. Jeans – Levi’s 545 that cost $14.97 at the outlet stores (and the fit on these flatters everyone). The shoes were my latest eBay purchase, a gorgeous red printed wedge (Circa by Joan and David) I bought from my favorite eBay retailer, Shoe Metro. Those cost a whopping $24.90 with shipping.  And honestly, most of my wardrobe consists of pieces that cost less than $50 each.

What’s your favorite bargain outfit?

September 25, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI