Love/Hate with the Outlets

We just had a new outlet mall open nearby. Correction – a new “premium” outlet mall. Let me explain the difference between the premium outlet and the average run-of-the-mill outlet: price. Sure, there are high-end designer stores occupying this outlet – Michael Kors, Coach, Kate Spade, Prada, BCBG, etc. – but there are also higher-than-mall prices here. Case in point: the Michael Kors jacket I bought at TJ Maxx can be had at the outlet store for, get this, $50 more than I spent on it. No thanks.

Still, I love outlets because you can find things you wanted but missed in the stores. For instance, I picked up this straw handbag – a total spur-of-the-moment buy – at the Guess outlet store.

I paid too much. It was $50. On eBay, similar ones are going for $30. However, I got the color I wanted, which is a rosy pink, and it was the last rosy pink one in the store. I literally grabbed it off the mannequin.

In general, I look elsewhere for bargains. Outlets have not proven to me yet that they can save me money. But I’ll still look, hoping…

 

June 6, 2008. bargains, handbags.

One Comment

  1. Marc Jacob Handbags replied:

    Thanks alot mate Fashion on a Dime, this is a really nice Love/Hate with the Outlets 🙂 I’m bookmarking this page!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

